Lil Nas X’s ‘7’ EP: Release date, tracklist, album art and everything you need to know

13 June 2019, 17:46

Lil Nas X
Lil Nas X. Picture: Jason Kempin/Getty Images
Rachel Finn

By Rachel Finn

After the success of ‘Old Town Road’, Lil Nas X is set to drop his debut EP ‘7’ very soon. But when will it be released? What songs are on the EP? What collaborations can we expect?

When Lil Nas X released ‘Old Town Road’ in late 2018, it quickly took the top spot on the charts and became impossible to escape, thanks in part to its popularity on the app TikTok.

MORE: Lil Nas X's Wrangler Jeans collaboration is being called a "disgrace" by country music fans

But since then, Lil Nas X - real name Montero Lamar Hill - has been hard at work on his first collection of songs. New EP ‘7’ is set to drop sometime this month and he’s been steadily dropping hints about the release for a while now, telling Teen Vogue recently: “The main thing with this album, I'm actually having stuff to talk about, or at least now I'm able to include that in my music, but also make it edgy, fun, and listenable.”

Here’s everything else we know about the EP so far.

When will ‘7’ be released?

There’s no official set date yet, but the EP is set to drop sometime in June, as confirmed by Lil Nas X on Twitter. The exact release date is still TBC (but *apparently* could be hidden in Lil Nas’s recent post to below...)

What songs will be on the EP and what will they sound like?

Lil Nas X has already shared the track list for ‘7’. It will feature seven songs, hence the album name, including Old Town Road. Other songs set to feature on the release will be called ‘Panini’, ‘F9mily’, ‘Kick It’ and more.

We’ve yet to hear full-finished versions of the songs, but there’s been plenty of hints dropped via social media of what the new songs sound like. Lil Nas X previously shared a preview of another EP track ‘Rodeo’ on YouTube and posted a clip of him dancing to a rock-tinged track called ‘Bring U Down’, which looks set to be a collaboration with Ryan Tedder.


You can see the whole track list below:

What does the album art look like?

The current album art for ‘7’ features Lil Nas X riding a horse through the mountains with the view of the city at night in front of him, although there’s a possibility it might not end up being the final official artwork. Lil Nas mentioned on Twitter that he’s “still accepting cover submissions” for the album art.

What collaborations can we expect on ‘7’?

Judging by the track list, we can expect the Billy Ray Cyrus-featuring version of ‘Old Town Road’ on the EP rather than the original version, but Lil Nas X has also been dropping hints about other collaborations that could be set to feature.

Travis Barker, best known as the drummer in Blink 182, looks set to feature on a track called ‘F9mily’ according to a recent tweet by Lil Nas. Speaking to SPIN about the song, Travis said the track came about kind of by accident: “He came to the studio and I played a couple beats that I thought would be stuff he was into, then I played something on accident where he stopped and was like, “What is that? I’ve got to have that.” It was actually an idea I had for the Blink album. Three hours later, he posted a clip of it on the internet, and now it’s done,” Travis explained.

There’s also ‘Bring U Down’, which we mentioned earlier, set to be a collab with Ryan Tedder.