Ariana Grande Vegan? ‘7 Rings’ Singer’s Diet As Fans Question New Starbucks Drink

11 March 2019, 15:20 | Updated: 13 March 2019, 14:22

Ariana Grande's new Starbucks drink has fans questioning whether she's still vegan
Ariana Grande's new Starbucks drink has fans questioning whether she's still vegan. Picture: Ariana Grande/Instagram

Ariana Grande collaborated with Starbucks to create a special edition of one of her favourite drinks, and the beverage has fans questioning whether the pop star is still vegan.

Ariana Grande has fans eager to find out more about her vegan status, after the drink she created with Starbucks was revealed to be a macchiato which contains eggs.

Ari’s cloud macchiato is made with eggs while the caramel drizzle is made with condensed milk – meaning if Ariana is still a vegan she won’t be able to enjoy the sweet treat in its original recipe form.

Ariana Grande Tour 2019: Ariana Shares More Details On World Tour In Behind The Scenes Snaps

What is Ariana Grande's diet?

Ariana Grande created the Starbucks cloud macchiato
Ariana Grande created the Starbucks cloud macchiato. Picture: Ariana Grande/Twitter

The ‘Breathin'’ singer is thought to have been a vegan since 2013, and when she announced her collaboration with Starbucks recently Ariana encouraged her fans to “try the soy version” of her caramel macchiato.

Personal trainer and nutrition expert to the stars Harley Pasternak told Glamour in 2015 Ariana mostly follows a macrobiotic Japanese diet.

He told the magazine: “Ariana Grande, she’s vegan, and she loves daikon, lotus, adzuki beans – almost like a macrobiotic Japanese diet.”

What is a macrobiotic diet?

A macrobiotic diet focuses on choosing organic, locally grown and seasonal produce and includes wholegrains, fruits and vegetables, beans and bean products.

It also cuts out spicy foods, dairy, eggs, meat, sugar, and processed foods.

Is Ariana Grande still vegan?

These days Ari’s diet is more balanced, meaning she listens to her body and still allows herself to indulge sometimes.

The '7 Rings' singer's personal trainer added: “I think what I've gotten her to do now is to create a more balanced diet and feel OK about indulging and celebrating sometimes. She has widened the ingredients she puts into her diet.”

So Ariana probably is enjoying those Starbucks cloud macchiatos – just as a rare treat.

What have fans said about Ariana's Starbucks drink being non-vegan?

A lot of people have been left disappointed after discovering Ariana's caramel cloud macchiato can't be made with vegan-friendly ingredients.

One person claiming to be a barista at Starbucks explained the drink can’t be made as a vegan-friendly alternative, tweeting: “As a barista AT Starbucks, I think it’s really weird that Ariana Grande is the ambassador for the new drink.

"You literally cannot make it vegan, the key ingredient in cloud powder is egg whites to make it more like meringue.”

Starbucks did respond to one fan asking if they can get a vegan alternative, but the coffee chain replied: “Sorry, no. The cloud powder cold foam contains egg and milk and the sauce contains dairy.”

> Download Our App For All The Latest Ariana Grande News