Beyoncé Act II Album 'Cowboy Carter' – Release Date, Track List And All The Details

19 March 2024, 16:26 | Updated: 28 March 2024, 15:53

Beyoncé is releasing a country album in 2024
Beyoncé is releasing a country album in 2024. Picture: Getty
Capital FM

By Capital FM

Beyoncé is releasing her follow-up to ‘Renaissance’ with new album 'Cowboy Carter'. What’s on the track list and what’s the release date?

Listen to this article

Loading audio...

Beyoncé is joining the long list of artists releasing new music in 2024 (we’re talking about you Dua Lipa, Taylor Swift and Billie Eilish) after confirming during the Super Bowl Act II of ‘Renaissance’ is coming.

Shortly after Bey released ‘Renaissance’ in 2022 she seemed to be hinting at a second and third act, and now we know the follow-up is Act II, a country-themed album titled 'Cowboy Carter' which features a cover of Dolly Parton's iconic 'Jolene'.

She dropped two singles before its release too; '16 Carriages' and 'Texas Hold ‘Em'. We knew she was up to something when we saw that cowboy hat at the Grammys.

Beyoncé's 'Cowboy Carter' was five years in the making and is a record which she says was 'born out of an experience where I did not feel welcomed'. From that, Bey 'did a deeper dive into the history of Country music' and is now hoping to 'amplify the voices of some of the people who have dedicated so much of their lives educating on our musical history.'

When is Beyoncé’s new album coming out, what’s on the track list and what else do we know about Bey’s new music in 2024? Read on for the latest.

Beyoncé with daughter Blue Ivy at the Grammys
Beyoncé with daughter Blue Ivy at the Grammys. Picture: Getty

When is Beyoncé’s album 'Cowboy Carter' coming out?

Renaissance Act II 'Cowboy Carter' is coming out on 29th March 2024. Beyoncé confirmed the news during an ad-break in the Super Bowl after teaming up with network company Verizon.

After trying to ‘break the internet’ in a multitude of ways, including posing on the iconic ‘Renaissance’ horse, starting a lemonade stand (a nod to her 2016 album) and running for BOTUS (Beyonce of the United States), she announces: “Ok, they ready. Drop the new music. I told y’all the Renaissance is not over.”

She’s confirmed previously that ‘Renaissance’ is a three act project, recorded over three years during the pandemic. She said when she released the 2022 album: “A time to be still, but also a time I found to be the most creative.”

Beyoncé's Renaissance world tour took place in 2023
Beyoncé's Renaissance world tour took place in 2023. Picture: Getty

What is Beyoncé’s country album called?

Beyoncé has confirmed the name of her 2024 album is called 'Cowboy Carter'. At first glance it seems Bey named the album after her surname but some further research shows the name actually has a tie to the “first family of country music” a family known as The Carter Family.

What’s on the track list for Beyoncé’s ‘Act II’ album 'Cowboy Carter'?

  • 'American Requiem'
  • 'Blackbird'
  • '16 Carriages’
  • 'Protector'
  • 'My Rose'
  • 'Smoke Hour' feat. Willie Nelson
  • 'Texas Hold ‘Em’
  • 'Bodyguard'
  • 'Dolly P'
  • 'Jolene'
  • 'Daughter'
  • 'Spaghetti'
  • 'Alligator Tears'
  • 'Smoke Hour II'
  • 'Just For Fun'
  • 'II Most Wanted'
  • 'Levii's Jeans'
  • 'Flamenco'
  • 'The Linda Martell Show'
  • 'Ya-Ya'
  • 'Oh Louisiana'
  • 'Desert Eagle'
  • 'Riverdance'
  • 'II Hands II Heaven'
  • 'Tyrant'
  • 'Sweet Honey Buckin''
  • 'Amen'

Bey teased some collaborations when she said: "I have a few surprises on the album, and have collaborated with some brilliant artists who I deeply respect."

Now hold on to your cowboy hats because Beyoncé's Jolene is of course a cover of country queen Dolly Parton's famous song. This epic news was revealed by Dolly herself, when Knox News asked if she knew whether or not Beyoncé had recorded a cover of her song.

She said: "Well, I think she has! I think she's recorded ‘Jolene’ and I think it's probably gonna be on her country album, which I'm very excited about that."

Listen live to Capital, and catch up on any shows you missed, on Global Player.