Lady GaGa - The Fame

Around this time of the year we're inundated with emails from record companies claiming that their new signing is destined to be the next big thing.

While most of these acts inevitably sink without trace, there are those which immediately stand out a mile and Lady GaGa is a prime example, partly because she's already well on her way to becoming a massive star worldwide.

Her single, 'Just Dance' has already reached No.1 in Australia and is currently sitting pretty on top of the iTunes chart in both the US of A and right here in the UK. She's also penned tracks for the likes of New Kids On The Block and Britney and Christina Aguilera was recently accused of ripping off her look.

So, that's all very well, but what's her debut album, 'The Fame' like? Well, put it this way - we can't stop playing it! Perfectly crafted for 2009, it's a little bit electro, a little bit urban and a whole lot of pop.

From the tongue-twisting "half psychotic, sick hypnotic, got my blueprint, it's symphonic" on lead single, 'Just Dance' to her chant of "let's have some fun, this beat is sick, I wanna take a ride on your disco stick" on second track and sure-fire future hit, 'LoveGame', the 22 year old New Yorker certainly knows a catchy hook when she hears it and offers up no less than sixteen of them here.

'Paparazzi' has more than a touch of Gwen Stefani about it, the thumping bass sound of 'Poker Face' looks set to fill dance floors everywhere, while piano-based ballad, 'Again Again' demonstrates that she's no less compelling when taking on a more confessional style of songwriting.

The UK release of the album also boasts a number of tracks which weren't on the original Australian release which came out last summer, including 'Starstuck' with its robotic, auto-tuned vocals and the idiosyncratic keys of 'Paper Gangsta'.

If that's whet your appetite for Ms. GaGa, she's performing no less than three live shows in London this month: two as opening act for The Pussycat Dolls and Ne-Yo at the O2 Arena on Tuesday 27th and Wednesday 28th January, as well as a solo headline set at legendary club, G-A-Y on Saturday 17th January.


1. Just Dance
2. LoveGame
3. Paparazzi
4. Poker Face
5. I Like It Rough
6. Eh Eh (Nothing Else I Can Say)
7. Starstruck
8. Beautiful, Dirty, Rich
9. The Fame
10. Money Honey
11. Boys Boys Boys
12. Paper Gangsta
13. Brown Eyes
14. Summerboy
15. Disco Heaven
16. Again Again

Song you must download:

Poker Face


January 12th on Interscope / Polydor Records.

For more info on Lady GaGa visit:

Related Links