New Year Honours: Hampshire

31 December 2013, 06:45 | Updated: 30 March 2016, 13:50

Nearly 20 people from Hampshire and the Isle of Wight have been recognised in the Queen's New Year Honours.

1,195 people have received an award in total this year, with several from Hampshire the South Coast.

For the first time since the Order of the British Empire was founded in 1917, there are more women (51%) on the list than men.

Ruth Jones from Gavin and Stacey (pictured), singer Katherine Jenkins and businesswoman Karren Brady have all been recognised.

DCI Linda Dawson from Hampshire Police gets an MBE for her work to protect victims of stalking.

MBEs also go to David and Shirley Metherell from Portsmouth who founded deaf charity The Elizabeth Foundation.

The president of St John Ambulance in Hampshire, Harry Dymond, gets an MBE too.

All the South Coast's recipients are as follows:


Professor Peter Sonksen, for services to anti-doping in sport. (Upham, Hampshire)

Richard John Harwood, QC. For services to Planning and Environment Law Decision-making. (Winchester, Hampshire)

Writer and broadcaster Sandi Toksvig (University of Portsmouth chancellor)


Quinton Shillingford, for services to boxing and young people. (Portsmouth, Hampshire)

Mrs Helen Sinclair. Founder, Friends of the Animals. For services to Animal Welfare. (Ryde, Isle of Wight)

Mrs Wendy Catherine Townshend. Senior Scientific Officer, Ministry of Defence. For service to the Royal Navy. (Southsea, Hampshire)

Dr Carol Agnes Trotter. Consultant Psychiatrist, Portsmouth. For services to Mental Health. (Botley, Hampshire)

Professor Paul Alan Tyler. Professor of Deep-Sea Biology and Professorial Research Fellow, University of Southampton National Oceanography Centre. For services to Science. (Fordingbridge, Hampshire)

David Kenneth Metherell. Co-Founder, The Elizabeth Foundation. For services to People with Hearing Impairments and their Families. (Portsmouth, Hampshire)

Mrs Shirley Metherell. Co-Founder, The Elizabeth Foundation. For services to People with Hearing Impairments and their Families. (Portsmouth, Hampshire)

John Phillips. Co-Chair, Learning Partnership Board, Isle of Wight. For services to People with Learning Disabilities. (Shanklin, Isle of Wight)

Mrs Linda Kathleen Dawson. Detective chief inspector, Hampshire Police. For services to Policing and Victims of Stalking and Harassment. (Hampshire)

Mrs Alexandra Graeme Day. Director, Adult Continuing Education, Peter Symonds College, Winchester. For services to Adult Education. (Soberton, Hampshire)

Harry Frederick David Dymond. Area president, St. John Ambulance, Hampshire. For voluntary service to First Aid and Older People. (Southampton, Hampshire)

David Alan Carter. Formerly manager. Corporate Design and Publishing, Ordnance Survey. For services to Cartography and voluntary service to the National Autistic Society and the Boys' Brigade. (Eastleigh, Hampshire)


Professor Van Jonathan Gore. Vice-Chancellor, Southampton Solent University. For services to Higher Education. (Salisbury, Wiltshire)