Edinburgh Uni Named Cyber-Security Research Centre Of Excellence

3 April 2017, 12:11

Edinburgh University

Edinburgh University has been named as Scotland's first centre of excellence for cyber-security research thanks to ''truly ground-breaking'' work.

The UK Government announced it was the latest institution to become an Academic Centre of Excellence, with staff to focus on developing the latest cyber-security techniques.

The 14 universities with these centres work with the National Cyber Security Centre (NCSC) to help reinforce the UK's position as a world leader in the area.

Cabinet Office Minister Ben Gummer said: ''This Government is determined to make the UK the safest place in the world to live, work and do business online.

''That is why we need truly ground-breaking research to stay one step ahead of the growing threat of cyber attacks.

''I am pleased to announce the University of Edinburgh as the latest academic institution to contribute their expertise to this vital field, joining thirteen other universities from around the country.

''By engaging with business, industry and academia, we will ensure that we develop the skills and research we need to tackle this growing threat to the UK.''

Professor David Aspinall, of the University of Edinburgh's School of Informatics, said: ''Cyber-security and privacy is now an essential aspect of modern life which impacts the technology we see and use, as well as the behind-the-scenes technology we rely on that supports the physical and virtual infrastructures.

''Our recognition as a centre of excellence will bring fresh impetus to our research, to help make the digital world safer for everyone.''

Chris Ensor, deputy director for cyber-security skills and growth at the NCSC, said: ''It's fantastic to see so many leading universities committed to trailblazing improvements to the UK's cyber-security research and it is particularly good to see Scotland represented for the first time.

''At the NCSC, we are absolutely committed to maintaining and improving our already strong reputation as a global leader in cutting-edge research and look forward to collaborating with these establishments to make the UK the safest place to live and work online.''

The University of Edinburgh has been chosen as a centre of excellence, along with the University of Birmingham, University of Bristol, Cambridge University, Lancaster University, Imperial College London, the Royal Holloway University of London, University College London, Newcastle University, Oxford University, Queen's University Belfast, the University of Southampton, the University of Surrey and the University of Warwick.

The institutions will all have centre of excellence status for five years from June 2017 before being reassessed.