Halsey Opens Up About Break-Up That Inspired New Song 'Graveyard'

12 November 2019, 15:48

Halsey has revealed to Capital how splitting from her boyfriend inspired the lyrics to her new song 'Graveyard'.

Halsey has revealed that advice from her mum following a break-up was the inspiration behind her new single 'Graveyard'.

The 25-year-old singer joined Jimmy Hill on the Capital Evening Show and explained how 'Graveyard's lyrics came after she split with her boyfriend - with her mother's love lesson afterwards inspiring the song's dramatic gasp.

> Halsey & Yungblud's Relationship Timeline - How Long The '11 Minutes' Duo Dated Before Splitting Up

"I was going through a breakup and I was on the phone to my mum [saying] 'I just don’t understand how I could have been so stupid, we were so in love, he gave me butterflies'," Halsey confessed.

Halsey speaking to Jimmy Hill on the Capital Evening Show
Halsey speaking to Jimmy Hill on the Capital Evening Show. Picture: Capital FM

"That was your first mistake," Halsey's mum told her, "You should be with the person that makes you feel safe and makes you feel comfortable, like you don’t have to fight for their attention."

Halsey explained that, a year later, when she was in the studio working on 'Graveyard', she sang the line 'The warning signs can feel like they're butterflies' and gasped immediately afterwards realising how her mum's words had influenced her.

So there you have it - that's basically how Halsey's huge gasp towards the end of 'Graveyard' came into existence.

Halsey's new album Manic is coming on 17 January 2020 and the star teased a couple of details about the record to Jimmy.

The 59th GRAMMY Awards - Red Carpet
The 59th GRAMMY Awards - Red Carpet. Picture: Getty

"It's super autobiographical, it’s very conversational," Halsey explained, "It's hopefully not too depressing, just a little depressing."

The singer let slip that tracks 7 and 8 are ones to listen out for on the new album, with both tracks about falling hard for someone after just the first, few dates. We can't wait to hear them in the new year.

The Capital Evening Show with Jimmy Hill - Monday to Thursday from 7pm on Capital

> Download Our App For All The Latest Halsey News

  • Top Ten
  • 11 - 20
  • 21 - 30
  • 31 - 40
  1. 1
    Own It artwork
  2. 2
    Before You Go artwork
  3. 3
    Run artwork
  4. 4
    Dance Monkey artwork
  5. 5
    Blinding Lights artwork
  6. 6
    Don't Start Now artwork
  7. 7
    Adore You artwork
  8. 8
    Memories artwork
  9. 9
    All I Want For Christmas Is You artwork
  10. 10
    Heartless artwork
  11. 11
    Roxanne artwork
  12. 12
    Everything I Wanted artwork
  13. 13
    This Is Real artwork
  14. 14
    Better Half Of Me artwork
  15. 15
  16. 16
    Lose You To Love Me artwork
  17. 17
    Pump It Up artwork
  18. 18
    One More Sleep artwork
  19. 19
  20. 20
    Watermelon Sugar artwork
  21. 21
    Down Like That artwork
  22. 22
    Ride It artwork
  23. 23
    South Of The Border artwork
  24. 24
    Loneliest Time Of The Year artwork
  25. 25
    Lose Control artwork
  26. 26
    The Last Time artwork
  27. 27
    We Got Love artwork
  28. 28
  29. 29
  30. 30
    Senorita artwork
  31. 31
    Hot Girl Bummer artwork
  32. 32
    Bruises artwork
  33. 33
  34. 34
    Beautiful People artwork
  35. 35
    Can't Fight This Feeling (feat. London Contemporary Orchestra) artwork
  36. 36
    Orphans (Andy Jarvis Remix) artwork
  37. 37
    Don't Rush (feat. Headie One) artwork
  38. 38
  39. 39
    Christmas Tree Farm artwork
  40. 40
  • Top Ten
  • 11 - 20
  • 21 - 30
  • 31 - 40
Visit the site