One Direction Joined By Ed Sheeran At Massive Madison Square Garden Gig – Video

4 December 2012, 11:08 | Updated: 4 December 2012, 11:18

The singer joined the group to perform 'Little Things' during their massive US show.

One Direction were joined on stage by Ed Sheeran as they played Madison Square Garden in New York last night (4th December).

The show marked the biggest gig in the band's career and singer Niall Horan had admitted to feeling nervous before they took to the stage.

One Direction kicked off their performance with 'Up All Night', before scattering their set with several songs from their new album 'Take Me Home'.

These included the single 'Live While We're Young', 'Kiss You' and 'C'Mon C'Mon'.

Towards the end of their performance, One Direction were joined unexpectedly by Ed Sheeran on 'Little Things' – their recent hit that was written by the 'Lego House' singer.

One Direction embrace after their performance at Madison Square Garden: (picture: Splash)

One Direction hugging at Madison Square Garden

Sitting down on the Madison Square Garden stage, Ed, who also opened for the band, surprised fans when he came and sat besides Harry Styles for the performance. 

One Direction also covered Wheatus' 'Teenage Dirtbag' on stage, as well as answering questions from their fans on Twitter.

Taking to the social-networking website after their performance, Niall wrote: "Wow, madison square garden,thank you soo much! It was the best night of our lives! Thank you thank you thank you ! #1DinMSG."

One Direction's setlist for Madison Square Garden was:

•  'Up All Night'
•  'Na Na Na'
•  'Stand Up'
•  'Teenage Dirtbag'
•  'Gotta Be You'
•  'More Than This'
•  'Live While Were Young'
•  'Tell Me a Lie'
•  'Everything About You'
•  'Moments'
•  'I Want'
•  'Save You Tonight'
•  'Little Things' feat. Ed Sheeran
•  'One Thing'
•  'Kiss You'
•  'C'Mon, C'Mon'
•  'What Makes You Beautiful'