Louis Tomlinson Adds Noel Gallagher Songwriting Credit To New Single ‘Walls’

22 January 2020, 15:04

Louis Tomlinson is a big fan of Noel Gallagher's band Oasis.
Louis Tomlinson is a big fan of Noel Gallagher's band Oasis. Picture: PA

Louis Tomlinson has added Noel Gallagher as a songwriter on his new single ‘Walls’.

Louis Tomlinson has dropped his brand new single ‘Walls’ and, interestingly, Oasis legend Noel Gallagher has been credited as a ‘lyricist and composer’ on the track.

The One Direction star admitted to a fan on Twitter that he was ‘surprised’ when Noel approved it.

WATCH: Liam Payne Relies On Louis Tomlinson's Friendship To Help Him Through Hard Times

The fan’s tweet read: “out of noel gallagher’s 138 writing credits from oasis and his high flying birds band there’s only 3 others, 2 songs where he performs background vocals so walls is the only song he’s approved to be released with similar chords to oasis and not been directly involved in himself.”

Louis replied, saying: “I was surprised when he approved it. Massive respect.”

The ‘Two of Us’ singer lifted parts of three songs, ’Stop Crying Your Heart Out’ and ‘Cast No Shadow’ and the vocal melody of the chorus sounds noticeably like ‘Acquiesce’.

Louis is gearing up to release his debut album and has previously admitted the creative process took him a little longer than it took his bandmates - Harry Styles, Liam Payne, Niall Horan and Zayn Malik - as he needed time to understand ‘where [he] sits musically’ in today’s pop music scene.

He told Complete Music Update: “There was definitely a process of understanding where I sit musically. I have my own tastes and, to a certain extent, they are fighting against the musical tide.

“When I grew up, pop meant Arctic Monkeys, Oasis, The Killers and Amy Winehouse. Times change, obviously. Currently pop is very urban and street, which is not what I relate to.

“Sure, I could make those sort of songs, but they wouldn’t feel like me. The puzzle was how to please both myself and the fans”.

After the record has dropped, he is heading out on a huge World Tour.

Louis will kick off the tour in Barcelona before stopping off in other European cities such as Berlin and Paris. In the UK, he will play London, Glasgow, Manchester and his native city, Doncaster. He will then head to Dubai and also play shows in Australia, New Zealand, Japan and Brazil - to name but a few - before making his way to America.

> Roman Kemp's Catching Up With All Of The Stars Over On Our App

  • Top Ten
  • 11 - 20
  • 21 - 30
  • 31 - 40
  1. 1
    No Time To Die artwork
  2. 2
    To Die For artwork
  3. 3
    Blinding Lights artwork
  4. 4
    Roses (Imanbek Remix) artwork
  5. 5
    Physical artwork
  6. 6
    Falling artwork
  7. 7
    Before You Go artwork
  8. 8
    Dance Monkey (James Scott & Luke Hepworth Remix) artwork
  9. 9
    Someone You Loved (ID9 Remix) artwork
  10. 10
    Intentions artwork
  11. 11
    Birthday artwork
  12. 12
    Lonely artwork
  13. 13
    Adore You artwork
  14. 14
    What a Man Gotta Do artwork
  15. 15
    Don't Start Now artwork
  16. 16
    Better Off Without You artwork
  17. 17
  18. 18
    Godzilla (feat. Juice WRLD) artwork
  19. 19
  20. 20
  21. 21
    Own It (feat. Ed Sheeran & Burna Boy) artwork
  22. 22
    Hold Me While You Wait artwork
  23. 23
    Everything I Wanted artwork
  24. 24
    My Oh My artwork
  25. 25
    React artwork
  26. 26
  27. 27
    Bruises artwork
  28. 28
    Yummy artwork
  29. 29
    This Is Real artwork
  30. 30
  31. 31
    Memories artwork
  32. 32
    Lose You to Love Me artwork
  33. 33
  34. 34
  35. 35
    Don't Call Me Up artwork
  36. 36
  37. 37
  38. 38
    Watermelon Sugar artwork
  39. 39
    Roxanne artwork
  40. 40
    Good As Hell artwork
  • Top Ten
  • 11 - 20
  • 21 - 30
  • 31 - 40
Visit the site