Mariah Carey Confirms American Idol Exit To Focus On New World Tour Plans

31 May 2013, 10:10

The 'Beautiful' singer will not be back on the FOX TV show's next season in order to focus on her new music.

Mariah Carey has confirmed her exit from American Idol after just one season on the show.

The 'Hero' singer announced yesterday (30th May) that her main focus for 2013 will now be the launch of a brand new world tour, her first in four years.

Mariah's new single 'Beautiful' featuring US singer-songwriter Miguel has been a huge chart hit in recent weeks, which is believed to have contributed to her decision to exit the FOX talent show.

"W/ global success of '#Beautiful' (#1 in 30+ countries so far) @MariahCarey confirms world tour & says goodbye 2 Idol," a tweet from Mariah's PR company reads, which was later retweeted by the 'My All' singer.

Check out a picture of the 2012 American Idol panel together last year below (Credit: Getty):

The producers of American Idol have since issued a statement thanking Mariah for her work on the show over the past year, after she joined Idol in 2012 as part of a revamped judging panel line-up including Nicki Minaj, Keith Urban and mainstay Randy Jackson.

"Mariah Carey is a true global icon, one of the most accomplished artists on the planet, and we feel extremely fortunate that she was able to bring her wisdom and experience to the American Idol contestants this season," US network FOX and the American Idol producers said in a statement. "We know she will remain an inspiration to Idol hopefuls for many season to come."

The past month has seen both Randy Jackson and Nicki Minaj both announce their exits from the show, while Keith Urban has yet to confirm his plans

Scotty T

11 Tweets That Prove Scotty T Is The Funniest Geordie Shore Star EVER

Leigh-Anne Pinnock joins Snapchat

80+ Of The Best Popstars You Should Have On Snapchat

Capital Metadata - Capital App March 2017

Want To Control The Music On Capital? Now You Can With Our New App - My Capital!

  • Top Ten
  • 11 - 20
  • 21 - 30
  • 31 - 40
  1. 1
    Symphony artwork
  2. 2
    Sign Of The Times artwork
  3. 3
    There's Nothing Holdin' Me Back artwork
  4. 4
    Galway Girl artwork
  5. 5
    The Cure artwork
  6. 6
    Swalla artwork
  7. 7
    On My Mind artwork
  8. 8
    Skin artwork
  9. 9
    Scared of the Dark artwork
  10. 10
    No More Sad Songs artwork
  11. 11
    Issues artwork
  12. 12
    Stay artwork
  13. 13
    Shape Of You artwork
  14. 14
    Something Just Like This artwork
  15. 15
    That's What I Like artwork
  16. 16
    Solo Dance artwork
  17. 17
    Ciao Adios artwork
  18. 18
    Chained To The Rhythm artwork
  19. 19
    Green Light artwork
  20. 20
    It Ain't Me artwork
  21. 21
    Castle On The Hill artwork
  22. 22
    Human artwork
  23. 23
    Passionfruit artwork
  24. 24
    Places artwork
  25. 25
    Touch artwork
  26. 26
    No Promises artwork
  27. 27
    Cold artwork
  28. 28
    Slide artwork
  29. 29
    Scared To Be Lonely artwork
  30. 30
    Perfect artwork
  31. 31
    Best Behaviour artwork
  32. 32
    I Feel It Coming artwork
  33. 33
    Heatstroke artwork
  34. 34
    You Don't Know Me artwork
  35. 35
    Call On Me (Ryan Riback Remix) artwork
  36. 36
    HUMBLE. artwork
  37. 37
    Good Life artwork
  38. 38
    Baby artwork
  39. 39
    24K Magic artwork
  40. 40
    Did You See artwork
  • Top Ten
  • 11 - 20
  • 21 - 30
  • 31 - 40
Visit the site