Marcus Collins: "Tulisa Recorded One Of My Songs Before The X Factor"

15 February 2012, 15:38

The Liverpudlian singer says the N-Dubz star had planned to use one of his songs on her first solo album before they met on the reality show.

Marcus Collins has revealed he wrote a song that Tulisa Contostavlos recorded before ever even auditioning for The X Factor.

The singer, who came second on the ITV reality show in December last year, claims the N-Dubz star has been planning to release the track as her first single before judging on The X Factor delayed her solo career plans.

"I have always written songs. I wrote a song for Tulisa, which she recorded before she knew me, before I auditioned for the show or anything," Marcus told the Daily Record this week. "It was called 'Breakaway' but it ended up not coming out because she got The X Factor job.

"I think it was going to be her first solo single."

'Seven Nation Army' singer Marcus says he and Tulisa were in The X Factor house one day when he started humming the song's tune.

"She was looking at me like, really confused, and asked how I knew that song, " Marcus explained. "I said, 'Because I wrote it love – it's one of mine'.

He added: "We had a laugh about it. I suppose it still could happen." 

Earlier today (15th February) Marcus unveiled the track 'Break These Chains' as his b-side to upcoming first single 'Seven Nation Army'.

Marcus Collins will release his self-titled debut album on 12th March, one week after the release of 'Seven Nation Army'.

Maggie Lindemann with Roman Kemp

WATCH: Maggie Lindemann Let Slip Her Next Tune Is With A Major UK Artist, But Who Could It Be?!

Snapchat Accounts Ariana Kim K Rita Ora

80+ Of The Biggest Celebrities You Really NEED To Add On Snapchat Today

Capital Metadata - Capital App March 2017

Want To Control The Music On Capital? Now You Can With Our New App - My Capital!

  • Top Ten
  • 11 - 20
  • 21 - 30
  • 31 - 40
  1. 1
    Bridge Over Troubled Water artwork
  2. 2
    Despacito (Remix) artwork
  3. 3
    Wild Thoughts artwork
  4. 4
    Smile For Bradley artwork
  5. 5
    Mama artwork
  6. 6
    Strip That Down artwork
  7. 7
    Your Song artwork
  8. 8
    Power artwork
  9. 9
    2U artwork
  10. 10
    Slow Hands artwork
  11. 11
    One Last Time artwork
  12. 12
    Attention artwork
  13. 13
    There's Nothing Holdin' Me Back artwork
  14. 14
    Symphony artwork
  15. 15
    Shape Of You (Remix) artwork
  16. 16
    I'm the One artwork
  17. 17
    Skin artwork
  18. 18
    Malibu artwork
  19. 19
    Unpredictable artwork
  20. 20
    Unforgettable artwork
  21. 21
    Pretty Girl (Cheat Codes x Cade Remix) artwork
  22. 22
    Galway Girl artwork
  23. 23
    Came Here For Love artwork
  24. 24
    No More Sad Songs artwork
  25. 25
    On My Mind artwork
  26. 26
    Crying In The Club artwork
  27. 27
    Swalla artwork
  28. 28
    No Promises artwork
  29. 29
    Something Just Like This artwork
  30. 30
    That's What I Like artwork
  31. 31
    Feels artwork
  32. 32
    Castle On The Hill artwork
  33. 33
    Bad Liar artwork
  34. 34
    Stay artwork
  35. 35
    Solo Dance artwork
  36. 36
    Instruction artwork
  37. 37
    Did You See artwork
  38. 38
    Perfect artwork
  39. 39
    Wall of Glass artwork
  40. 40
    Don’t Matter Now artwork
  • Top Ten
  • 11 - 20
  • 21 - 30
  • 31 - 40
Visit the site